HomeFactopediaBrainoffsRankingsCommunityLog In
You know 0 facts

British Guiana

Play Fact Master on Old Countries  (it's free)    

   was formerly known as   
British Guiana
Until 1966. British Guiana was a British colony, now the independent nation of Guyana. The area was originally settled by the Dutch as the colonies of Essequibo, Demerara, and Berbice. These three colonies were captured by the British in 1796, officially ceded to the United Kingdom in 1814, and consolidated into a single colony in 1831.

   About - Terms - Privacy Log In